The meaning behind the imagery...


Varaha - the third avatar of the Hindu God Vishnu, taking the form of a boar.
Arddha Nari - half male, half female god. The great symbol of gender equality.
Lakshmi - the Hindu goddess of wealth and prosperity; symbolizes material and spiritual fortune and the embodiment of beauty.
Rudra - has been called the lord of animals and patron of hunters; is associated with the wind or the storm; the roarer; the howler.
Green Tara - The goddess who carries out and accomplishes the enlightened actives of the buddhas.

Maitreya - His name signifies loving kindness.

Bodhisttva- in the Buddhist tradition is to appear on earth to achieve complete enlightenment and teach the pure law.

Ushnisha - in it's original function, the word unishisha was intended to symbolize a crown atop the head of Buddha.

Vishnu - a major god in Hinduism and thought of as the preserver of the universe.

Ganesh (the elephant) - is one of the best known and most widely worshipped Hindu diety
Nataraja - is derived from the Sanskrit words meaning lord of the dance. It is also a depiction of the Hindu god Shiva as the cosmic dancer who performs his divine dance to destroy a weary universe and make preparations for god Brahma to start the process of creation.
Buddha - meaning awakened one or elightened one. He is also regarded as a god or prophet.
Ohm or Om - is a holy meditation symbol of Hinduism also means to sound out loudly
Trishula - the word means three spears in Sanskrit. The three points have various meanings, they are creation, maintenance, and destruction; past, present, and future.
Chakras - the chakra are said to be force centers or whorls of energy permeating from a point on the physical body.
Chakra Chart - it is typical for chakras to be depicted as either flower-like or wheel-like. Each chakra possesses a specific number of petals or segments. Chakra is a concept originating from Hindu texts.
Brahma - is the Hindu god of creation and the universe.
Shiva - one of the principal Hindu deities. Worshipped as the destroyer and restorer of worlds.
Siva - a major Hindu god. His duty was to destroy all worlds at the end of creation and dissolve them into nothingness. His destruction was not negative but positive. He destroys imperfections in order to ensure our spiritual progress.
Lotus - it has been a spiritual symbol in Eastern religion for thousands of years. It symbolizes enlightenment, divinity, fertility, wealth, and knowledge.
Prana - in Sanksrit it means vital life.
Shanti - peace
Namaste - is the common spoken greeting or salutation originating in India.
Rajani - night
Dhara - earth, on which all beings rest.
Nidra - sleep
Shaya - sleep
Santa Shaya - peaceful sleep





Copyright Judy Lichtenstein Designs 2016 - 773.935.8094